6.5 master database syslogs full

Giganews Newsgroups
Subject: 6.5 master database syslogs full
Posted by:  brian.j.parkā€¦@gmail.com
Date: 22 Aug 2006

I inherited an application (or two) that run on SQL Server 6.5, which I
haven't used in years, and am having a problem.  I get the error:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Can't allocate space for object 'Syslogs' in database 'master' because
the 'logsegment' segment is full. If you ran out of space in Syslogs,
dump the transaction log. Otherwise, use ALTER DATABASE or
sp_extendsegment to increase the size of the segment.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

....when I... well... just about everything.  If I try:

DUMP TRAN master WITH NO_LOG

....I get:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Can't allocate space for object 'Syslogs' in database 'master' because
the 'logsegment' segment is full. If you ran out of space in Syslogs,
dump the transaction log. Otherwise, use ALTER DATABASE or
sp_extendsegment to increase the size of the segment.
Unable to write CHECKPOINT record in database 1 because the log is out
of space.
Unable to continue logged version of DUMP TRANsaction. Please free up
some space in database 1 or use the NO_LOG option.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

....If I try to expand the device or database, I get the "Can't allocate
space..." error.  If I use "DBCC UPDATEUSAGE(0)" I get nothing, "DBCC
CHECKTABLE(syslogs)" tells me it's using one page and has 29 rows
(which is what I get if I "SELECT * FROM syslogs").

How can I expand the space available to the master database or
otherwise resolve this problem?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.  I know there probably
aren't many of you still using 6.5.

Regards,
Brian

Replies