RMAN / controlfile / TDPO issue

Giganews Newsgroups
Subject: RMAN / controlfile / TDPO issue
Posted by:  Evan Ehrenhalt (eehre…@emory.edu)
Date: Wed, 02 Aug 2006

HELP!!!

We are seeing an intermittent error when using RMAN to backup our
archive logs.

The archive logs are moved to tape and deleted, but there are errors on
the controlfile backup. Whenever this happens, the logs themselves seem
fine. Just the controlfile fails to backup.

Can anyone tell me why the controlfile backup would cause this error,
when the archivelog backup goes fine?

Here is the background:
Oracle 9.2.0.6 + security patches.
RMAN is 9.2.0.6.0 (same ORACLE_HOME)
Tivoli Data Protection for Oracle (TDPO) 5.2.0.0

----------------- RMAN Logfile ------------------
Starting backup at 28-JUL-06
channel c1: starting archive log backupset
channel c1: specifying archive log(s) in backup set
input archive log thread=1 sequence=103986 recid=102783 stamp=578189102
channel c1: starting piece 1 at 28-JUL-06
channel c2: starting archive log backupset
channel c2: specifying archive log(s) in backup set
input archive log thread=1 sequence=103987 recid=102784 stamp=578189702
channel c2: starting piece 1 at 28-JUL-06
released channel: c1
released channel: c2
released channel: c3
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-03009: failure of backup command on c1 channel at 07/28/2006 00:20:02
ORA-19506: failed to create sequential file,
name="DB1P_ARCHIVE_20060728_578190000_s19709_p1", parms=""
ORA-27028: skgfqcre: sbtbackup returned error
ORA-19511: Error received from media manager layer, error text:
    ANS1017E (RC-50)  Session rejected: TCP/IP connection failure

RMAN>

----------------- RMAN SCRIPT ------------------
RMAN script and settings:
connect target /
connect catalog $logn
configure backup optimization on;
configure default device type to 'sbt_tape';
configure channel device type 'sbt_tape' parms
'ENV=(TDPO_OPTFILE=/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/oracle/bin64/tdpo.opt)';
configure controlfile autobackup on;
run {
allocate channel c1 type 'sbt_tape' parms
'ENV=(DSMI_ORC_CONFIG=/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/oracle/bin64/dsm.opt)';

backup filesperset 10
format '%d_ARCHIVE_%T_%t_s%s_p%p' tag '$ORACLE_SID Archive'
(archivelog like '/u01/app/oracle/admin/${ORACLE_SID}/arch/%' delete input);

release channel c1;
}

----------------- Typical Tivoli Log ------------------

***** Each backup has a start, a number of bytes send, and an end.

***** In this example, 205017,
***** It starts,
***** backs up R25PROD_ARCHIVE_20060731_597246624_s29484_p1
***** Size 33554432 bytes,
***** then ends.
07/31/06 13:50:25 ANR0406I Session 205017 started for node URANIAORA
TDP Oracle SUN) (Tcp/Ip 170.140.13.75(41834)). (SESSION: 2050
07/31/06 13:50:35    ANE4991I (Session: 205017, Node: URANIAORA)  TDP
Oracle SUN ANU0599 ANU2535I File
/adsmorc//R25PROD_ARCHIVE_20060731_597246624_s29484_p1 = 33554432 bytes
sent (SESSION:  205017)
07/31/06 13:50:35    ANR0403I Session 205017 ended for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN). (SESSION: 205017)

***** Controlfile success
***** Start backup controlfile by deleting the old copy (never exists).
07/31/06 14:20:23    ANR0406I Session 205103 started for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN) (Tcp/Ip 170.140.13.75(42121)). (SESSION: 205103)

07/31/06 14:20:23    ANE4994S (Session: 205103, Node: URANIAORA)  TDP
Oracle SUN ANU0599 ANU2602E The object
/adsmorc//c-2375565327-20060731-00 was not found on the TSM
Server(SESSION: 205103)

07/31/06 14:20:23    ANR0403I Session 205103 ended for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN). (SESSION: 205103)

***** Now do the actual controlfile backup:

07/31/06 14:20:23    ANR0406I Session 205104 started for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN) (Tcp/Ip 170.140.13.75(42122)). (SESSION: 205104)

07/31/06 14:20:24    ANE4991I (Session: 205104, Node: URANIAORA)  TDP
Oracle SUN ANU0599 ANU2535I File /adsmorc//c-2375565327-20060731-00 =
1835008 bytes sent (SESSION: 205104)
07/31/06 14:20:24    ANR0403I Session 205104 ended for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN). (SESSION: 205104)

***** Control file failure, it looks like this for a failure
07/31/06 13:50:35    ANR0406I Session 205020 started for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN) (Tcp/Ip 170.140.13.75(41837)). (SESSION: 205020)

07/31/06 13:50:35    ANR0403I Session 205020 ended for node URANIAORA
(TDP Oracle SUN). (SESSION: 205020)

No action, just a start, then an end. While on the RMAN side I get the
error above.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Replies