Oracle database not starting up after reboot on RedHat ES4 Linux !

Giganews Newsgroups
Subject: Oracle database not starting up after reboot on RedHat ES4 Linux !
Posted by:  shahid.bhat…@gmail.com
Date: 10 Aug 2006

Hi,

I have Oracle database enterprise edition 9.2.0.4 running on RedHat
Linux ES release 4. Although the installation went fine and after the
installation I was able to see the common processes like ora_pmon
started in system, but when I reboot system the database does not
comeup.

I am using dbstart command via a /etc/init.d/oracle file. This is
linked to /etc/rc5.d and /etc/rc3.d as well in the Linux server.

The amazing thing is that tnslistener is started automatically after
system reboot but not database. That is, when I check the status of
that via the command "lsnrctl status" it shows me the one database
instance that I am hoping to see correctly. But no ora_pmon etc
processes are there.

Even interesting thing is that when I manually run the command
"/etc/init.d/oracle start" by hand, it does start the database
perfectly fine. This is the same command that I am running via the
startup scripts in /etc/rc5.d and othe runlevels.

Please help me finding out why is the database not starting up
automatically? I have checked the
/u02/app/oracle/product/9.2.0/startup.log which just says reports that
Listener has started but after that it does not show anything about
database starting up.

Below I am pasting the chunk of /etc/init.d/oracle script that is
supposed to start the listener and database. Please have a look at it
and tell me what can I be doing wrong in this case?

#################################################
ORACLE=oracle1
export ORACLE_HOME PATH
#

LOG=$ORACLE_HOME/startup.log
touch $LOG
chmod a+r $LOG
#

case $1 in
'start')
  echo "$0: starting up" >> $LOG
  date >> $LOG

  # Start Oracle Net
  if [ -f $ORACLE_HOME/bin/tnslsnr ] ; then
    echo "starting Oracle Net listener"
    su - oracle1 -c "$ORACLE_HOME/bin/lsnrctl start" >> $LOG 2>&1 &
  fi
  echo "starting Oracle databases"
  su - oracle1 -c "$ORACLE_HOME/bin/dbstart" >> $LOG 2>&1
  ;;
########################################################

Thanks in advance for your urgent help.

--Smb

Replies